Thirty Days Later With The Nintendo Switch

It has been 30 days since I purchased Nintendo’s newest console. The Switch is a hybrid console that docks into a charging station and displays on a TV. It also can play as a handheld console much like a PlayStation Vita or Nintendo 3DS.

This is just a brief summation of my experience of the Switch. I won’t give too much details because there are already numerous tech reviews that do a better job of explaining the system.

Since March 3rd, 2017 (the launch day), I have been playing the Switch every single day. It’s unlike any console that has ever come out. Nintendo has hit it out of the park.

The Switch is versatile. It plays like a home console but you can also take with you. I was able to take it with me when I went to Boston for PAX East and continue playing Zelda while away from home.

The controllers share the same versatility. You can connect the Joy-Cons to a grip, separate them similarly to Wii Remotes, or operate them as two separate controllers.

As for game selection, it is still barebones but the library of titles is growing each week. However, the main system seller at this point is The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. It is easily my favorite game in the series and I am only halfway finished with it.

Other titles like Fast RMX, Blaster Master Zero, Shovel Knight, Snipperclips, Snake Pass, Binding of Issac, and few others are fun and low cost games to tide Switch owners over after Zelda until more releases are on the way.

I like that how I able to be in the same room as my roommate while we both play Zelda. Other consoles like the PS4 and Xbox One have remote play features that try to achieve this with other devices, but the Switch is independent of internet connections that could hamper play on a laptop or Vita.

Overall, I love the Nintendo Switch and it’s my favorite Nintendo console thus far. I still have concerns like Virtual Console, third party lineup outside of indies, and online infrastructure.

Admittedly, owning a Switch now does feel like a beta test but I am enjoying with my time with it. I am looking forward to what Nintendo has to offer later in 2017 and beyond.

One thought on “Thirty Days Later With The Nintendo Switch

  1. Good post. 110+ hours into Zelda and I’m loving the Switch so far. There’s already been a number of times where I’ve had to travel on longer train rides and being able to take the system with me was just great! I’m excited for Mario Kart 8 and Disgaea 5 soon!

Leave a Reply

