Episode 6 – On The Buzzer

On-The-AirwavesOn this episode of the podcast, Chris talks about phone carriers pushing for FM radio in smartphones. Additionally, there is news about a host of a popular public radio show finally retiring and a new line of shortwave radios.

Also On The Airwaves, listeners will learn the history of the Russian numbers station called “The Buzzer,” or UVB-76.

Finally, Chris gives an update of rural radio reception on the new Tecsun PL-680.

Download & Listen

3 thoughts on “Episode 6 – On The Buzzer

  1. Do you frequently podcast about numbers stations? I find them fascinating, but I have no shortwave radio background. I really got into them after the whole Webdriver Torso thing broke on NPR. I was curious and googled numbers stations and then it took off from there. I find them creepily fascinating, and I’m not entirely convinced that they aren’t in use today, though I guess they were spy relics of the Cold War. The Squeaky Wheel is one of the creepiest things I’ve ever heard – can’t listen to the Conet Site posts by myself, especially late at night. Thanks for sharing this information

    • I don’t normally podcast on number stations. Admittedly, I don’t know too much about them myself, so I had to look up some stuff on this particular one. There’s a really good podcast called “Stuff You Should Know” and one episode goes into depth about number stations like the Buzzer and Conet Project. Definitely listen to that one.

      Yeah, there’s no doubt that some nations, especially Russia, China, and North Korea would still use numbers and spy stations on shortwave. These guys also have a Cold War mentality still and currently have the infrastructure to support these operations. With international broadcasters getting off shortwave, it may be much easier to catch these signals and less people being aware that there are these signals beamed around the planet.

      • Thanks, I’ll have to check out that podcast. I heard a 4 tone ascending scale from the Conet Project on my XM public radio feed the other day and it freaked me out. I got interested in them after the whole Webdriver Torso thing, and although I don’t know that much about shortwave radio, I’d love to see what I could pick up. Creepy but cool.

Leave a Reply

